Exploring Beetroot world

I have always wondered what one could do with beets, I tried making beetroot fry and I failed making it edible. Lately, I started experimenting various dishes and was intrigued by this particular recipe which I found on Sapna’s blog.

I got idea from the blog mentioned above and made variations to what I have done.

Beet Root Parantha

Ingredients

2 medium beets (Grated)

3 cups of wheat flour

1 tbsp of butter

3 green chillies – finely chopped

1/4 tbsp of grounded cumin

1/4 tbsp of ground corriander

salt to taste

water – as per necessity

Procedure

1. Put the skillet on stove, add 1 tbsp of oil of your choice, add finely chopped chilles and grated beets to it. Add cumin, corriander and salt to the mix and stir it. Add water if required and let it cook covered for about 10 minutes.

2. Mix cooked beets, flour, salt to taste, butter and water, knead to make dough. Let it settle for about 30 minutes.

3. Make the paranthas, Instructions on how to make paranthas here, and I followed exact same procedure of making them. Make it like a chapathi otherwise and fry it on flat frying pan.

Result : Eating with plain yogurt/curd will taste delicious. But, I ate with cabbage and lentil as well. It turned out to be delicious dish.

Beetroot Parantha's

Beetroot Parantha’s

Let me know what you think? Tried it.. forget not to leave a comment.

P.S: this is my fifth time editing and I hope this gets published before I ran out of patience.

 

One thought on “Exploring Beetroot world

  1. Pingback: Exploring beetroot world part-2 (Beets fried rice) | Hidden Passions

Leave a comment