500 Words Challenge for 31 days – Taken – Day 1

I have signed up for a challenge of writing 500 or more words every single day for 31 days.  I came across this when I was going through a blog post on becoming minimalist that I scan through now and then. In the process, if I do like something, I would try to give it a shot.  It is also very important to note that I failed at almost everything that I have taken up. Not a good note to start this challenge – isn’t?

The one rule this author of 500 word challenge says that, just write whatever comes to your mind without editing.  Now, a person who writes on a publicly exposed blog certainly has some filters and of course will not spill every single thought that comes to mind. Is anyone out there who does that? Please let me know, I would be interested in reading your blog.

The other challenge I realized as soon as I signed up was, I was hoping to get a prompt to write about. Nope, there weren’t any. Instead, the email states that today is day 1 of the challenge.  So, to get some inspiration, I browsed through some of the participants of this challenge, found out that most of the links were not functioning in the first place. Secondly, the handful of blogs that did write something, they did not last much longer and the stuff written was random. I guess, I just signed up for nothing? Or rather, I decided to take it as personal challenge to take it forward instead, unless I get emails with some suggested prompts to take up.

The reason behind my hesitation stems back to last year experience of trying to blog every day for one whole month. Besides, I ended up cheating by doing picture posts. That is not an option now.  As I type this, I also realize that I might end up blabbering just to increase the word count. I promise, I will try my best not to do. I am also afraid, that writing so much and every day may lead to not-having-any-interesting-topics-to-share here.

Normally, I would have ended my post here, may be with a relevant picture. But, the word count says 366. Challenge accepted.  So, I would like to leave you all and most importantly to myself  with some interesting quotes from “Albert Einstein

  • I never think of the future. It comes soon enough.
  • If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.
  • Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them.

Few from Kahlil Gibran,

  • We choose our joys and sorrows long before we experience them.
  • To understand the heart and mind of a person, look not at what he has already achieved, but at what he aspires to.

I hope you have enjoyed reading this post and do not forget to leave a comment. I also hope that, you continue to re-visit my blog for next 30 days.

P.S: If you are like me, who would like to explore your abilities as a writer or even for fun. You can know more about it here .

2 thoughts on “500 Words Challenge for 31 days – Taken – Day 1

  1. How about using the Daily Post on WordPress for prompts. Today’s prompt is transformation. Good luck with writing something every day. Look forward to reading your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

