Books – this year

On an average, I read something or the other all the time. Be it a blog, online newsletter or random articles as my regular routine. Once in a while, I enjoy reading books, preferably fictional. Every time I read a book, my style of writing, vocabulary usage swings in that direction. I tend to frame my sentences better and I like my posts better. It has been such a long gap that I finally had a chance to lay my hands upon a simpler fictional book that I could finish it fairly quickly. I have been lately exposed to chinese or japanese -american authors and their stories as an immigrants to america. Their life, their belief, their struggles, perception, slightly deeper insights into their life style is something that sounds interesting to me at the moment. I read Shangai Girls by Lisa see (based out on chinese immigrants) or Memoirs of Geisha by Arthur Golden (the life of a geisha in Japan) and this year I ended up reading “The Women Warrior” by “Maxine Hong Kingston”.

One resolution I took as part of this year is to read at least a book every month. I have many unfinished books from past few years and I cannot get my mind to go back to start all over again. It takes me few days to few weeks to few months to read a book depending on number of pages, type, time availability and so on. Yes, I can list numerous reasons to avoid. But, when I set this goal out this year and finished reading this book, I felt accomplished. I read this book as a de-stresser which surprised me even further. The workload this year has been seeping into my weekends, week nights as well. This book came at my rescue to divert my mind from routine things.

Reading books, takes me to a world that is new to me and although it is a fiction, there is always something to learn, observe and contemplate upon. Some of them are heavy reads, some light, some thought provocative and some books tends to give introductions to new subject lines. Overall, a goal that is totally attainable, reasonable to take it up.

How about you? I know, many of you are avid readers out there, how would you choose your next book to read? what interests you more? any recommendations for fictions that are cross cultural?

 

Leave a Reply

