Cauliflower Salad

When ever I am void of topics, sharing recipes seems to be my to go.  While looking for simpler, raw version, I came across this recipe on youtube by Rawvana (not our rawana from ramayan) and it turned out to be super delicious, which I will be making again and again in the coming days. Very filling, healthy and delicious. You crave for a rice, and diabetic, then it is a must. Check it out yourself.

And this for myself and all of you people who are lazy to check the video out.

set#1

Cauliflower head medium size – 1

Jalapeno pepper – 1

onion white – 1/2 of small (alternatively, you could use one or two stems of scallions)

Lime/Lemon juice – 1 medium size

Cilantro – 3 stems

Salt – according to your taste

Cumin powder – 1/2 tbsp

Set#2

Red Bell peppers – 2 small – diced into small cubes

Green bell pepper – 1 medium – diced into small cubes

Avocado – 1 – sliced into small cubes

Procedure

  1. Remove all the stems of cauliflower, just have the head and grind that in the food processor, after it is 3/4 done, add jalapeno, lime juice, scallions/onion, cilantro, cumin powder, basically all of remaining items under set#1 and continue processing in food processor until all of them are thoroughly mixed and chopped well and take it into a bowl.
  2. To the contents from bowl from step #1, add the diced bell peppers from set 2 and mix it well. Adjust – lime/spice/salt/olive oil if you prefer, according to your taste buds.
  3. Just when you are about to serve, cut and add avocado pieces and sprinkle bit of lime juice on top of it to avoid getting it darker.

Voila – it is so delicious, so filling and perfect quick recipe for dinner or any pot lucks. Enjoy.

Pictures straight from my kitchen.

Cauliflower salad.. yummm

Cauliflower salad.. yummm

With Flash

With Flash

Let me know if you got a chance to try it out and how it turned?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower Salad

  1. I made cauliflower ‘rice’ for the first time last night. I started using a food processor but it turned to mush. I found using a cheese grater worked much better and was actually faster. It’s taste was good, but I think I will just stick to eating cauliflower chopped instead of a rice form because it’s less time consuming.

    Like

    • Oh noo, I had this small processor where I had to make quite a few rounds to get the whole head processed. I think the key is to cut into tiny pieces and that helped me to just process it enough. But, like you said, if you like it chopped or cheese grater, that would be perfect.
      I enjoyed this version where I barely tasted cauliflower and of course less energy to chew 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

