Baked Eggplant parmesan

My weekend is kind of wasted without much progress on the activities that I was supposed to finish. *sob**sob* ..I did bit of gardening, followed by an experiment that I have been thinking about for past couple of weeks.

I had 3 eggplants (brinjals – of which 2 are italian, 1 regular large one) and I was hoping to make lasagna. so, I got tomatoes, zucchini, spinach and ricotta cheese. I made raw Zucchini pesto pasta – was delicious, will share it later. I finished spinach by making spinach dal, and I am left with just egg plants. So, we ended up getting mozzarella and Parmesan cheese to try out simpler and healthy version of eggplant Parmesan that I found this wonderful recipe on youtube. If interested, do check this out. My recipe is 90% based on it. As I say, this is for my own quick reference.

Ingredients:

3 eggplants or brinjals (I used 2 italian, 1 regular)

3 Garlic pods

6 Roma Tomatoes (put it in a mixer, with 2 garlic pods and make it into fine paste)

Cayenne pepper – per your taste

Salt – per your taste

1 medium size red onion – diced into small pieces

Parmesan cheese – 1/2 cup

Mozzarella cheese – 1/2 cup

All purpose flour – 4 tbsp

Milk – 1 cup

Oil – 3 tbsp

Procedure

  1. Slice eggplants into 1/2 inch thick slices, either vertically or horizontally (I did both ways) – and on a baking sheet, brush oil on either sides, sprinkle salt & cayenne pepper and bake it at 400 F for about 25 minutes. Or make sure they are tender but not too soft that it crumbles.
  2. Mean while, on a sauce pan, add 4 tbsp of all purpose flour, add little milk, and mix it until no humps,  add half the tomato paste, add rest of the milk, mix it, bring it to boil for about 10-12 minutes medium high, until it becomes creamy sauce.
  3. Parallely, put a frying pan, add 1 tbsp of oil, add diced onions, salt, pepper, 1 minced garlic pod, after it becomes translucent, add remaining tomato paste and let it cook for about 6-7 minutes.
  4. After you have 1,2,3 steps ready, take the baking pan, layer tomato sauce from step 3 tiny -teeny laying, then single layer of baked eggplant slices, top it with layer of creamy tomato sauce from step 2, it should be fully covered but not too much that it is way too flowy,  add another layer of egg plants, followed by creamy tomato sauce (by then you will be done with all egg plant slices), then layer it with tomato sauce from step 3.
  5. Sprinkle mozzarella, followed by Parmesan cheese.
  6. Make sure, you add only the amount required, not more, not less as displayed in the video.
  7. Now bake it at 400 F for about 30-40 minutes until the cheese on the top is bubbly and turns into golden brown color – I did until 40, as I have added more tomato sauce, so I reduced the tomatoes for you.
  8. Let it cool for about 30 minutes, and serve. I have made it spicy for myself. It turned out to be very delicious. I loved it.

Sorry, I did not take the picture, but I pretty much followed the same instructions but changed some things here and there, for instance, instead of baking egg plant slices, I did it on a frying pan – and it took way lot more time than I thought for 3 eggplants, so you better bake it as per instructions. I made my own tomato sauces. I made it spicy and salty enough for my indian taste buds.  I am positive, i can be more efficient next time.

Let me know, if you have tried eggplant parmesan in the past? how did that turn out? if you have your version of recipe, please leave it here. If it is vegetarian, less fatty, I would be more than willing to try it out.

2 thoughts on “Baked Eggplant parmesan

  1. Oh. My. God. I am drooling so bad. I need a napkin right away. Thank you so much. I will try this asap. Thank you, really.

    PS – I am confused though, with all the Parmesan, mozzarella, milk, etc, are you sure this can be classified as low fat? (Refering to your tag..hehe)

    Like

    • Thank you.
      Haha, of all the versions i searched in youtube, this is the only one, who used least amount of mozzarella, parmesan and low-fat milk – so it definitely comes at healthier side 😉 than the rest.

      Like

Leave a Reply

