American consumerism

Switch on the TV, you will not be surprised with the ads trying to sell us the stuff we do not need. In my earlier post, I was contemplating on whether to buy a car or not, I decided against it back then, but I keep going back to the idea of having a car to fulfill my little joys of going to a park near by, check some cool places out, do some basic errands, explore some beautiful hangout places. Every small activity, at times, costs us money or time. In the past few months, I have tried renting a car, using uber and public transportation. The cost of renting car is too high with crazy insurances that we need to pay and the pain of renting from various locations is equally painful.

Since, I do not want to spend so much money on the car for my basic errands around the town, I decided to opt for an used car, that takes me from point A to point B and possibly let me enjoy my weekend nature hikes which are with in 2 hours driving distance. All the people that I hang out with suggests that I buy a car on loan, if my budget is so affordable , for me, it makes no sense to loan the amount in the first place. But, they insist.  Stating, you will have better credit score. Honestly, if you can afford that small amount, why should you loan on a interest?  I can never argue with them.

So, the point is – why in this country, we tend to sway and go into debt mode. Why would any one need a fancier car, or a bigger home ? specially, if that causes you financial strain? The car loans or home loans, they are given to you in bigger amount, and if you fall into the trap, the stress is overwhelming. Why is that, most of them do not understand this fundamental concept of living a stress free life?

I was no different from the many who want to fall into the trap of mortgages and fancier cars. The moment, I put that mindset aside, I really learned how freeing it is to not have any debts. And, I prefer smaller cozier home that I can afford to live through rainy day (yeah yeah recession)  over larger one’s. The piece of mind is divine. We live in a small home, and every guest who dropped by at our place, suggested that we move into bigger home. Our answer initially was to explain why? but it later got dropped to…”yeah” we will do that in the near future.. with a smile.  Ergo, the challenges that I face to optimize the space, and all the de-cluttering projects I do, turns out to be bit hectic but also brings some creativity with in me. This move to small home made me question – “Why on the earth have I accumulated so much stuff?” I am glad to let go of things – slowly but steadily.

Going against american dream is surprising to many of my friends, as well as family.  The point people are not ready to understand is – if we can afford, we will. Sure, if I have money to get wasted, I may.. who knows, I might have few fancy cars and fancier mansion. I know my limits and I am happy with it.

What about you dear folks? what is your take on bigger homes and cars?  what do you prefer?

 

Leave a Reply

