Minimalism – a difficult path

As discussed in my earlier posts of my steps towards embracing minimalist life style – here and here.

I must tell you, it is not easy to keep up with my excessive consumerism. I guess I do not have nothing better to do in life. Most of my time goes into organizing on and on and it never ends ..and I give up to re-start the whole process again. On the pretext of shopping for a friend with a friend will only add a dent in my bank account and “More” stuff will land at my home. I am so tired of this and yet cannot restrict myself from purchasing even though I do not need them.

I have been reading a lot lately about minimalism..Be it online articles, books, brought some kindle version of books to get some tips of letting go of things and not getting more into life, and organizing home, be it kitchen, living or bedroom, closet, bathroom and what not.. It has been 6 months and I think I realized “Less is More Joy”.

Every time I read information related to minimalism or organization, and immediately I would want to spring to action. But, by looking at the enormity of task ahead..it kills my spirit and wonder why I have been accumulating and not organized bothers me and I leave it at that. It is the most difficult path than I thought it would be, especially with my never ending purchases.

I read on some minimalist blog as “One in – One out” strategy, but in my case it has been 5 in and one out *Sigh*!

And some one said-  living with 13 pieces of clothes or 100 possessions – this is not going to work for me.

I live in a tiny home where space is at premium and I learned that the less stuff I have, less time would go into organizing and more time for the activities that I love. It is the clutter at home in turn creates mayhem in my head.  One of my friend said, there is no way out if you just crib. If you need to make change, you must start somewhere and keep doing it until you get there. Complaining never benefited any one.

Beyond all, I am exhausted just thinking about it. On a more positive note – I have lately been trying to donate/trash at least 5 things a day from home. So that would be 150 things less in a month. I hope to continue until I reach my goal of “Satisfaction”.  (I got rid of all expired food, non-expired but not opened food items were donated away.. slowly but steadily)

I think I will have to deal with it one-day-at-a-time, after all slow and steady wins the race. I just need to be more persistent and consistent.

All dear minimalists and organized people out there – how do you deal with this?

 

4 thoughts on “Minimalism – a difficult path

  1. This is just an example. I started by putting all my clothes in plastic bins. I would take things out as I needed them and when they came back from the wash I would put them in my drawers and closet. Three weeks on, I find I have only four tee shirts out. After one or two or three months I plan to donate anything that remains. I’ll be writing a blog on this in a couple days. My blog is http://decrapitation.wordpress.com/ if you want to see it.

    Like

    • I tried something similar to what you have done, the problem I am facing is of “letting go” . I think i might wear those clothes sometime in the near future. I keep giving away but I equally accumulate stuff. So now, I am trying to not purchase anything for at least 2 months and want to see how it goes. Between, I am following your blog and looking forward for some tips that might help me be “Clutter Free”.

      Like

  2. Hello fellow minimalist! I read the Miss Minimalist blog too! I have been de-cluttering now for over a year and I think I’ve let go of 60% of my stuff, so it is time consuming but hang in there. You might want to check out “The life-changing magic of tidying up” by Marie Kondo – it doesn’t address the buying less aspect of minimalism but it does help in getting rid of things that don’t “spark joy”. Anyway, best of luck, it is very worth it.

    Like

    • 60% in one year – you are doing really well. I probably got rid of 10% and definitely stopped buying anything and everything, unless I think I would really badly need it. It is such a difficult path, especially, when I have accumulated lot of stuff over a long period of time. I will definitely read the book, you have suggested. Surely – “Getting rid of things” is much needed for me. I am stressed out every time I have to organize home. It is such a painful process.

      Like

Leave a Reply

