Bean and Carrots – Kerala Style (Quick Recipe)

One of my colleague at work hails from Kerela, southern part of India.  One of my dream destination as well. I am looking forward to spend at least a week just roaming in the nature of Kerala.

I have been trying her food lately during my lunch sessions and fell in love with them. When I googled to make bean-carrot kerala style, I came across Vazhayila, her simple recipe that was so quick and easy to make made me do it. My measurements are not as accurate as she specified but here is the link of her recipe. I loved her food photography but I am writing this down for my future self..

Ingredients

Beans – 1 pound – thinly chopped

Carrots – 3 medium – chopped in small size 1/4 inch cubes

Mustard seeds- 1 tbsp

Grounded cumin powder – 1/2 tbsp

Curry leaves – few

Onion – 1 medium – chopped thinly

Grated fresh coconut (I used frozen coconut) – 1/2 cup

Green chillies – 5 (or more depending on your taste buds) – chopped into thin pieces

Salt to taste

Turmeric – pinch of it.

Oil – 2tbsp or less depending on how you prefer using it.

Ginger – minced – tiny bit

Procedure

1. Heat oil in a pan, add mustard seeds, once they sputter, add Curry leaves.

2. Add all the mix at once – ( beans, carrots, chopped onion, turmeric powder, green chillies, minced ginger, salt , little bit of water) – cover and  let it cook for about 6-8 minutes or until cooked or the raw smell disappears.

3.  Now add cumin powder and grated coconut and let it cook for about 3-4 minutes uncovered and let it become dry.

4. Turn off the stove.. voila..it’s ready! . Goes well with chapathi.

Result

Bean Carrot Thoran

Bean Carrot Thoran

I loved it, Hope you like it too..

2 thoughts on “Bean and Carrots – Kerala Style (Quick Recipe)

Leave a Reply

