Salads…

From the past 3 days, I’ve been diligently looking up for recipes to prepare salads for a healthy body. So far, they all turned out to be delicious and filling. Eating Salad for dinner makes me feel lighter and I seemed to sleep quite well.  It is all too early to come to conclusions, yet I am very happy about the outcome.

Here is a Salad made out of Brussels Sprouts with Indian touch of spices. It turned out to be an delicious one. I could not resist having it.

Salad - Brussels Sprouts

Salad – Brussels Sprouts

You could top it with walnuts, raisins, chicken pieces or any of your choice, I topped it with cranberries and few pomegranate seeds. You should try of what I did.. Although I found this recipe online but changed it according to my taste.

In any case if you need recipe – here it is, I have taken all in approximation and no measurements

Brussels Sprouts – cut in half at stem and then make into thin slices horizontally , after you slice them up, add about 2 spoons of lime juice to it and salt for taste.

5-10 Garlic cloves depending upon your taste – peel the skin and mash them up

Black pepper little bit – may be 1/4th of a spoon

Green chillies – 2 in very thin slices

Mustard & cumin seeds – each of one tea spoon full.

Red onion – small – minced

Cilantro or Basil leaves – handful

Olive oil – depending on your requirement – I used around 1 -2 tbs

cumin powder – 1tbs

turmeric – pinch

Preparation: Heat the pan, add olive oil 

Add mustard, cumin to the oil and sautee them, as soon as they start spluttering, add green chillies, garlic cloves and onion all at once.  After it becomes slightly transparent, add cumin powder, turmeric and salt to the mixture in the Pan. Mix them and then add the sliced Brussels sprouts to it.. fry it on high flame for few minutes .. and viola it is ready. Please remember it should not be over cooked nor under cooked.. keep stirring gently until it is done. Add Cilantro leaves at the end for the herbal taste (or you could add basil leaves)

I guess, I am not very expert in writing recipes or explaining it so well as other’s do. But, this is my first attempt and the salad turned out to be extremely delicious and I could not stop myself from sharing this with you all food lovers or people who love cooking.

Let me know what you think about it? or if you tried this – let me know how it tasted.

6 thoughts on “Salads…

Leave a Reply

