Piano…

They say people who are into music.. their brain works very well with memory even when they enter old age.. I picked up learning piano and I did not pick up for that reason. I have started on guitar a while ago and it took back seat after one session of basic beginners’ class. I wasn’t committed as much to put forth such an effort, my fingers hurt me.. but Piano seems to be easy and much exciting.. here I am trying to bring my music talent up. Also, I could use this as a medium for stress buster. Don’t you think so?

Playing Piano with fingers

Playing Piano with fingers

One of my dear friends got me started on it and yesterday was my first class. I learned to identify notes and tried syncing my brain with the sequence of notes. The problem is the moment I switch on metronome, I stumble and fail to be in sync and I need to really practice that. Patience and perseverance is the key.

On a brighter side, I could still remember treble clef (usually played by right hand) – EGBDF (Every Good Boy Does Fine) and the gaps between the lines of clef from bottom to up is FACE. For the base clef, played by left hand it is GBDFA (Good Boys Does Fine Always) and the gaps between the lines of Clef ACEG.  Pictures speak more than writings.. here is what I mean..

Clef

Clefs

Clefs

Treble Clef – Right hand

Notes for Right hand side

Notes for Right hand side

Base Clef – Left hand

Notes for Left hand side

Notes for Left hand side

Most of the phrases in music require you to play with both hands and I am yet to reach that level. My friend says, if you can diligently commit to practice 20 minutes a day without failing, I am guaranteed to go way advance and much faster. The more the practice the better I’ll be. And I’ll have 20 minutes less time to crib about things in life in general 😉

And, I’ll be blogging about my progress here.. as I hit my mini-milestones in the process.

Any Piano lovers or players?

Or

Is anyone out there who started on Piano classes in their adult life and got somewhere? .. if so how long it took for you to comfortably play around with keys?

3 thoughts on “Piano…

  1. Hi! Just found your blog via English Wife, Indian Life. 🙂 It is so exciting you are learning piano! I play – badly – and can work my way through a piece of music as long as I memorize it while muddling through! Muscle memory is really an amazing thing. You will find so much joy through expressing yourself through music. ❤

    Like

    • Hi Andrea-.. aah thank you so much for dropping by. I am looking forward to gain that muscle memory.. just got onto 3rd class but still cannot beat it timely.. trying to read notes and find the keys before i get used to metronome. ❤

      Like

  2. Pingback: Hola Amigos! | Hidden Passions

Leave a Reply

