Thanksgiving weekend – a long weekend in American History?

Not a big fan of history, yet always wonder about holidays in United States. Instead of them choosing 4th “Thursday” of November as thanksgiving day, wonder why did they not choose either “Friday” or “Monday”, It would have been more appropriate. May be you add a day before, a day after and again a day after weekend totaling in 6 days of vacation?  That sounds cool. It doesn’t sound like a lot right?   I know I am complaining, coz I had to mark my presence at work on Friday.

Alas, As much as I wanted this weekend to be more productive in terms of preparing for my certification exams (I know, I have been meaning to take them from ever and never put an hour worth of my time into it) , accomplish some important chores and strongly decided to not-give-in-to-the-temptation-of-shopping of thanksgiving sale on “Black Friday” . I could not resist. I gave in and did whole lot of shopping that evening. Unfortunately, my temptation was much stronger than my resolution. [Sometimes, resolutions have exceptions – by me].

It’s true that people actually go stand  in front of stores a day before in the lines to get some great electronic devices for FREE, and for even for lowest possible prices you can think of. Yes, one of my friend got the “Vacuum Cleaners” for $8.00 ..yes just eight dollars. Interesting isn’t? (flip side is they had to spend hours waiting for the store to open and let people in..it is first come first serve basis).

Thanksgiving shopping
(src: Google Images)

There were many people shopping around, so many messages on facebook floating on with questions of what to shop and where to shop , deals, so on so forth with increasing number of suggestions and discussions on those status messages.. definitely fun going through them (without any participation), yet news on the CNN says that thanksgiving sales are not up to mark , they say “Black Friday retail sales fell 1.8% to $11.2 billion”. (Details here). Blame it on Sandy, cold weather, economy!

Aaah..  Thanksgiving day..According to wikipedia — As President of the United States, George Washington proclaimed the first nation-wide thanksgiving celebration in America marking November 26, 1789, “as a day of public thanksgiving and prayer to be observed by acknowledging with grateful hearts the many and signal favours of Almighty God”!

It is also celebrated as a  practice of holding an annual harvest festival ..There are many perspectives. But, I think this as a day to reflect back on life and be thankful for what you have and be inspired as to what you can be/do in the future. As I sit and look back on my wonderful journey so far, there are many things & people that I am thankful for… having the greatest and awesome parents, wonderful family, amazing friends and fantastic enemies (yeah, without whom, I would not have learned some important lessons in life and appreciate other positivities in life). Thank you for everything.

Also, thankful to you (yes.. you), all my interesting blog readers and visitors of this blog. Did I get emotional.. ? Not really. Just took an opportunity to convey what I truly mean.

Thanksgiving Gift 🙂

Now, it’s your turn.. What are you thankful for?

P.S: Forgot to mention that Turkey is the main food they have on “Thanksgiving day” !

Leave a Reply

