What do I say?

A conversation between a lady that I met at some event.. It goes like this after basic initial conversations of where about’s, and her job is to help empower women to reach their highest potential and find what they love to do and succeed in what ever they choose. Very interesting I thought .. and this conversation made me look back why I am doing what I am doing.

Her: What do you do?

Me: I work in the IT industry.

Her: Do you love what you do?

Me: I found nothing better than what I do at this point that pays me decently.

Her: I know many women, who under-estimate themselves and they do the job that they do not like and are not happy.

Do you love what you do?
(src: google images)

I pondered over the thought of “Do I really love what I do?” and as I look back… I have lived almost all of my life in India where “Survival of smartest” gets applied to majority of the population. As far as I remember.. our family which comes from farming background, our generation is the one who got college education and I know how hard it is to get admissions into college or secure a job after graduation, it’s a constant struggle. And on top of that, we have limited resources, options and choices left to even explore what one loves.

The only aim and purpose of the human life is to, study & graduate (if you can afford), run a business/get a job, provide support to family, get married, have kids, retire, get old and die and cycle repeats.. Well may be not. India has been advancing in many aspects of all the fields and now-a-days people are being aware of available choices. So, before you judge, India is not like the way they show in OSCAR winning movies like “Slumdog Millionaire”, That is awful that they projected India such a way and they consider that as close to reality.  I get frustrated when some one asks me “If India is more like that movie”. Seriously, get your head straight people!

If one has to support the family, sometimes even the extended family, would you think of finding what you love? You would have to love what you do. With the financial problems, majority of us have no time, energy or are aware of even thinking of finding and doing what we love. Instead, we study or learn the skill that provides us the job. Yes, I never thought about it until I came to America where I was surprised to see a friend of mine who changed several majors until he found what he likes to do. Steve Jobs emphasizes the same fact too.. ”keep searching until you find what you love”. May be, this applies to very few people who are not tied down with any other responsibilities and life at their will. It does not mean to discourage any others who are passionate about finding what they love to do.. and of course any one can do at any point in their life.

…I would leave the conclusion to readers of what they think is right according to them. Would love to hear back from you about your thoughts on “Do you love what you do and why?”

2 thoughts on “What do I say?

  1. It’s not easy but…if you really love something and you know you’re good at it you should try to do it. Life is short! So why waste it with things you don’t like?

    Like

Leave a Reply

