Life time learning – is it a never ending saga?

Learning is an life time experience

..I always wanted to grow up faster, finish studies and land up in a job so that I do not have to ever worry about learning subject and giving exams.

I was so relieved and excited the day I graduated. Time to rejoice, no more super vision by parents, a job, new people, new place, and yes I got my very first car too. I was totally on cloud nine until a week passed into my job.

As the ancient saying goes “The beginning of the end”..but for me it is “the beginning of the real-drama in life that tests what you have been prepared to do for so many years”.

The first real-job I landed wanted me to learn new technology, systems, environment, and required to possess problem solving skills to fix, initiate or finish the projects ahead of dead lines and with minimum supervision. So, I had to venture back my energy and time into learning, adapting, acting spontaneously, and being responsible. To even spice up, and stay ahead of my compatriots, one needs to be on top of the things, be it from business front, or knowledge about cheapest, best and latest technologies that will help perform your job efficiently one has to spend some time on researching new IT products released into market. I had to even give some Certification exams just to show the world that I have some standard agreeable level of knowledge. Sadly, I still give certification exams just to be updated with the current technology that I am working on. (*sigh* Competition, competition every where).

I thought, it’s great that I now possess all the skills to do the job and I can put an end to learning.. As I enter into comfort zone, only then I was put on a new project, new team and my life came back to square one. Yes, sad isn’t?  I had to start all over again. It happened every time on every new project that changes on the average of 6 months to 1.5 years. I hated it for choosing this kind of job stream and being in this position.

Transition happened so seamlessly that I found my comfort zone in this uncertainty of this modern age when recession hit. I got so used to learning and adapting to situations by then that it wasn’t too difficult to switch to a totally new technology and still do my best. And, I pride myself in helping others during that tough time in providing the necessary support.

My parents have always said – “if you work hard now, you’ll be happy later”. But I think, what they meant as.. If you work hard now and you will eventually get used to it and obviously you’ll be happy coz your mindset has that attitude. I totally second their thoughts.

Bottom line: Be in life or career, Change is the only consistent thing and we will be learning every single day.. Yes every single day!… We are students for lifetime. The sooner we accept this fact, the more fun it is. I know, I have learned it a very hard way.

Do you have such stories?  Go ahead and share.. I would love to hear back from you.

Leave a Reply

