Scared of Public Speaking…you are not alone

Every presentation has a beginning , an ending and organized content in between that progresses smoothly from beginning to end. Giving a presentation has always been a night mare for me, I would tremble, stumble, jumble, panic and what not.. in front of the audience.

Public Speaking.. ?&#$^ (src: google images)

Starting from my under-grad days, I have always loved to participate in paper presentation contests, although paper would get selected but I’ve terribly failed presenting it and since then I’ve been looking for a platform to get rid of this public speaking fear. I have had given decent number of presentations since then and I see myself getting better at it.

As the saying goes, Practice makes man perfect.  True to the fact but you also need to find a means where you can practice it, and I found one – Toastmasters Club. I have been thinking of joining it from past 2 years. Today, I made it a point to attend it any cost and went in as a guest to get the feel of it.

Wonder How to Say it?
src: google images

It was a pleasant surprise to see the high-energy, warm environment and the speakers were truly amazing. It gave a confidence that this is the platform for any one who would like to get over with public-speaking anxiety and improve their leadership skills. I am excited and looking forward to attend these meetings.  The audience would evaluate each of the speaker listing their area of strengths, areas to improvise . It also gives a scope for creativity and improves spontaneity of people.

Lecturing is an art…

They really give feedback for each of the person who speaks up, be about being spontaneous, best presenter, best evaluator etc. One of my friend who came along said : Ignorance gives a person confidence. True to an extent that you wouldn’t care how you are speaking, your gestures, body mannerisms anything would come into picture coz you are not being judged.

Here is the Medicine for your problem.

I loved it and hope you’ll like it to. To explore more about Toast Masters in your country, Click here. And good news is, It is open to anyone and everyone who ever wants to join and improve their public speaking skills.

Images Src: I know you must have guessed it.. I am still a die hard fan of google images. I may swtich to bing soon just to avoid monopoly in the IT market.

2 thoughts on “Scared of Public Speaking…you are not alone

Leave a Reply

